Yo-Yo Ma Returns for Shostakovich's First Cello Concerto

Atlanta Symphony Hall

Dates & Tickets

Sunday, April 18, 2021 7:00 PM

The inimitable Yo-Yo Ma returns to perform one of the most iconic pieces of the 20th century cello repertoire, Shostakovich's Cello Concerto No. 1. The concerto is a masterpiece of emotional clarity and formal balance. Originally composed for his close friend and collaborator Mstislav Rostropovich, the cello part is at once deeply meditative and technically challenging, uniquely suited to the masterful abilities of Yo-Yo Ma. The concert will also feature Alexander Borodin's Symphony No. 2 and his "Polovtsian Dances" from Act II of Prince Igor.



"Polovtsian Dances" from Prince Igor


    Symphony No. 2

    Atlanta SO  

    Cello Concerto No. 1

    Atlanta SO  
  • Connect With Us

    Plan Your Visit