The "Rach Two" Featuring Pianist Dejan Lazić

Atlanta Symphony Hall

Dates & Tickets

Thursday, January 7, 2021 8:00 PM
Saturday, January 9, 2021 8:00 PM

This program features an eclectic range of music, touching down in Russia and Eastern Europe, the American South, Africa and North India. Pianist Dejan Lazić joins conductor Ryan Bancroft and the ASO in Sergei Rachmaninov's towering work of virtuosity and drama, Piano Concerto No. 2. Rachmaninov's Second Piano Concerto is paired with the Negro Folk Symphony by William Levi Dawson, who has produced some of the most widely performed choral arrangements of negro spirituals. The concert opens with Derrick Spiva Jr.'s Prisms, Cycles, Leaps, an energizing orchestral piece that recalls the music of the Balkans, the Volta region of Ghana and North Indian Hindustani classical music.



Prisms, Cycles, Leaps (Part 1)


    Negro Folk Symphony


    Piano Concerto No. 2

    Atlanta SO  
  • Sponsors

    Connect With Us

    Plan Your Visit