Stravinsky's Petrushka Featuring Pianist Stephen Hough

Atlanta Symphony Hall

Dates & Tickets

Thursday, April 29, 2021 8:00 PM
Saturday, May 1, 2021 8:00 PM

Camille Saint-Saëns was no fan of Igor Stravinsky. He publicly protested the revolutionary sounds of the young Russian composer. Under the baton of Hannu Lintu, this concert bridges the gap between two seemingly opposing forces: Petrushka, the second of the three ballets that catapulted Stravinsky to stardom and secured his place among the most influential composers of the 20th century. Saint-Saëns' Piano Concerto No. 5, a unique and fascinating piece coming from the latter days of a more traditional composer. The ASO welcomes renowned pianist Stephen Hough to play the Saint-Saëns "Egyptian" Concerto, which incorporates musical ideas from Egypt and the Middle East. The evening will begin with Kaija Saariaho's Laterna Magica.

Pre-Concert Chamber Recital
Thursday evening includes a pre-concert chamber music recital at 6:45 p.m. in Atlanta Symphony Hall. Free for all ticket holders of the April 29 and May 1, 2021 concerts.



Laterna Magica


    Piano Concerto No. 5, "Egyptian"

    Atlanta SO  

    Petrushka (1947)

    Atlanta SO  
  • Sponsors

    Related Events

    Connect With Us

    Plan Your Visit