Learn about our 70-year history.

Brian Raphael Nabors


Brian Nabors


Brian Raphael Nabors is a composer of emotionally enriching music that tells exciting narratives with its vibrant themes and colorful harmonic language.

Mr. Nabors has been commissioned by institutions such as the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra as well as performed at many events across the US, including the Texas Music Educators Association Conference (TMEA), the Midwest Composers Symposium, and the International Double Reed Society Conference (IDRS). He has received awards from the Music Teachers National Association (MTNA), Alabama Music Teachers Association (AMTA), the Birmingham Music Club, and has been performed by artists such as the Detroit Chamber Winds & Strings, Zodiac Trio, Unheard-of//Ensemble, and the Contemporary Directions Ensemble at the University of Michigan.

With an eclectic musical palate and crafty compositional technique to match, Nabors' music draws from combinations of Jazz/R&B with the modern flair of contemporary classical music. This interesting blend of sound worlds is one that continues to craft his unique musical voice.

His work has also been featured in masterclasses with notable composers such as William Bolcom, John Harbison, and Lowell Liebermann.

He was recently named the 2018-19 Composer-in-Residence with the Castle of Our Skins organization. In January 2019, Brian was named the Grand Prize winner of the Rapido! National Composition Contest Take Five by judges Robert Spano, Jennifer Higdon, and Michael Gandolfi. This includes the expansion of the competition chamber work to be performed by all of the participating chamber ensembles nationwide, a two-week artist residency at the Hambidge Center for the Creative Arts, and a brand new commissioned work with the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra in their 2019/2020 season.

In March 2019, Nabors was in residence with the Detroit Symphony Orchestra as one of four participating composers in the 2019 Earshot Residency, sponsored by the American Composers Orchestra.

‚ÄčNabors is currently completing doctoral studies at the College-Conservatory of Music, University of Cincinnati where he studies with Norman Dinerstein Professor of Composition Scholar, Douglas Knehans. He obtained the Master of Music degree in Composition also from CCM, studying with Miguel A. Roig-Francol√≠. Prior to graduate studies, he obtained a Bachelor of Music Theory & Composition degree from the School of the Arts at Samford University in Birmingham, AL, where he studied composition with Sarana Chou and piano with Kathryn Fouse.

Meet a Musician

David Coucheron, violin - photo credit Jeff Roffman