Learn about our 70-year history.

Unsuk Chin


Unsuk Chin


Unsuk Chin (born July 14, 1961) is a South Korean composer of classical music, who is based in Berlin, Germany. Chin began her journey with music at a fairly young age, as she taught herself how to play the piano and music theory. She was awarded the Grawemeyer Award in 2004 (for her Violin Concerto), the Arnold Schönberg Prize in 2005, the Music Composition Prize of the Prince Pierre Foundation in 2010 (for Gougalōn), the Ho-Am Prize in the Arts in 2012, the Wihuri Sibelius Prize in 2017, the Marie-Josée Kravis Prize for New Music of the New York Philharmonic in 2018, the Bach Prize in 2019, as well as the Léonie Sonning Music Prize in 2021.

Meet a Musician

Joel Dallow