Classical Performances

Just Announced: Our 73rd Season!

The 2017/18 classical season pays tribute to the important orchestral music of Leonard Bernstein and Ludwig van Beethoven. This season Shakespeare meets Italian opera in the ASO premiere of Verdi's Otello; we'll welcome Yo-Yo Ma, Kathleen Battle, Jean-Yves Thibaudet, Hilary Hahn, Jorge Federico Osorio and the 23-year-old piano sensation Conrad Tao to Symphony Hall; and of course, delight in the music of the incredibly talented musicians of the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra and Chorus.

2017/18 Subscriptions

Become a subscriber today and reserve your place at these fabulous concerts before they go on sale to the general public in August, 2017. Subscribers receive many exclusive benefits including free ticket exchanges (within 24 hours), discounted prepaid parking at the Woodruff Arts Center, access to open rehearsals, discounts to additional concerts and The Symphony Store, and much more!

Purchase Now

Upcoming Classical Performances:

Vasily Petrenko Leads the Orchestra in R. Strauss and Dvořák

More Info & Tickets

Thu, April 27, 2017

Sat, April 29, 2017

  • R. STRAUSS: Don Juan
  • MENDELSSOHN: Piano Concerto No. 1
  • DVOŘÁK: Symphony No. 8
  • Stewart Goodyear, Piano
  • Vasily Petrenko, Conductor
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Nicholas McGegan Leads the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra in Mozart, Rameau and Haydn

More Info & Tickets

Thu, May 4, 2017

Sat, May 6, 2017

  • MOZART: Eine kleine Nachtmusik
  • RAMEAU: Suite from Les Indes galantes
  • HAYDN: Symphony No. 104, "London"
  • Nicholas McGegan, Conductor
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Robert Spano Leads the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra Debut of Gluck's Orfeo

More Info & Tickets

Thu, May 11, 2017

Sat, May 13, 2017

  • GLUCK: Orfeo ed Euridice
  • David Daniels, Orfeo
  • Susanna Phillips, Euridice
  • Janai Brugger, Amore
  • Moving Artists of glo
  • Lauri Stallings, Choreographer
  • Daniel Arsham, Scenography
  • James Alexander, Stage Director
  • Robert Spano, Music Director
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra Chamber Chorus
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Donald Runnicles Leads an All-French Program

More Info & Tickets

Thu, May 25, 2017

Sat, May 27, 2017

  • DEBUSSY: Nocturnes
  • JOLIVET: Flute Concerto
  • FAURÉ: Requiem
  • Christina Smith, Principal Flute
  • Kim-Lillian Strebel, Soprano
  • Matthew Worth, Baritone
  • Donald Runnicles, Principal Guest Conductor
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra Chorus
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Robert Spano Closes the Season with Britten, Wagner and World Premiere

More Info & Tickets

Thu, June 1, 2017

Sat, June 3, 2017

  • BULLER: The Songs of Ophelia (World Premiere – Rapido Commission)
  • BRITTEN: Peter Grimes "Four Sea Interludes"
  • WAGNER: Die Walküre Act One
  • Twyla Robinson, Soprano
  • Clifton Forbis, Tenor
  • Daniel Sumegi, Bass
  • Robert Spano, Music Director
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Get Jazzed about Jean-Yves Thibaudet and An American in Paris

More Info & Tickets

Thu, September 21, 2017

Sat, September 23, 2017

  • BERNSTEIN: Symphony No. 2, "The Age of Anxiety"
  • MICHAEL KURTH: A Thousand Words
  • GERSHWIN: An American in Paris
  • Jean-Yves Thibaudet, Piano
  • Robert Spano, Music Director
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Shakespeare Meets Italian Opera in Verdi's Otello

More Info & Tickets

Sat, October 7, 2017

Tue, October 10, 2017

  • VERDI: Otello
  • Russell Thomas, Otello
  • Mary Elizabeth Williams, Desdemona
  • Nmon Ford, Iago
  • Benjamin Bliss, Cassio
  • Arthur Woodley, Lodovico
  • Kathryn Leemhuis, Emilia
  • Miles Mykkanen, Roderigo
  • Robert Spano, Music Director
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra Chorus
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

What’s New — The Cutting Edge of Classical

More Info & Tickets

Thu, October 12, 2017

Sat, October 14, 2017

  • GANDOLFI: Four New Gardens of Cosmic Speculation
  • LAZIĆ: Piano Concerto "In Istrian Style"
  • RACHMANINOV: Symphony No. 3
  • Dejan Lazić, Piano
  • Robert Spano, Music Director
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Orchestra with Attitude: Bernstein, Prokofiev and Ravel

More Info & Tickets

Thu, October 19, 2017

Sat, October 21, 2017

  • BERNSTEIN: Divertimento
  • PROKOFIEV: Violin Concerto No. 2
  • DUTILLEUX: Métaboles
  • RAVEL: La valse
  • Ray Chen, Violin
  • Ludovic Morlot, Conductor
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Halloween Haunts with Harry, Hedwig, and Hexenritt!

More Info & Tickets

Sun, October 29, 2017

  • Stephen Mulligan, Assistant Conductor & Atlanta Symphony Youth Orchestra Music Director
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Falla's Sexy Flamenco Gypsy Dance

More Info & Tickets

Thu, November 2, 2017

Sat, November 4, 2017

  • FALLA: El amor brujo
  • R. STRAUSS: Burleske
  • BEETHOVEN: Symphony No. 4
  • Bertrand Chamayou, Piano
  • Catalina Cuervo, Soprano
  • Jun Märkl, Conductor
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Atlanta Symphony Youth Orchestra Overture Concert

More Info & Tickets

Sun, November 5, 2017

  • Stephen Mulligan, Assistant Conductor & Atlanta Symphony Youth Orchestra Music Director
  • Atlanta Symphony Youth Orchestra

Mahler's Exuberant Seventh Symphony

More Info & Tickets

Thu, November 9, 2017

Sat, November 11, 2017

  • SCHUMANN: Cello Concerto
  • MAHLER: Symphony No. 7
  • Steven Isserlis,

    Cello

  • Robert Spano, Music Director
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Opera Stars Light up Beethoven's Missa solemnis

More Info & Tickets

Thu, November 16, 2017

Sat, November 18, 2017

  • BEETHOVEN: Missa solemnis
  • Erin Wall, Soprano
  • Stephanie Lauricella, Mezzo-soprano
  • Dimitri Pittas, Tenor
  • Peter Rose, Bass
  • Donald Runnicles, Principal Guest Conductor
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra Chorus
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Family Holiday featuring The Snowman Movie

More Info & Tickets

Sun, December 3, 2017

  • Stephen Mulligan, Assistant Conductor & Atlanta Symphony Youth Orchestra Music Director
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Christmas with the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

More Info & Tickets

Sat, December 9, 2017

Sat, December 9, 2017

Sun, December 10, 2017

  • Morehouse College Glee Club, Vocals, Choral
  • Gwinnett Young Singers, Vocals, Choral
  • Norman Mackenzie, Director of Choruses
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra Chorus
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

A Very Merry Holiday POPS!

More Info & Tickets

Fri, December 15, 2017

Sat, December 16, 2017

Sat, December 16, 2017

  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Messiah with the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra and Chorus

More Info & Tickets

Fri, December 22, 2017

  • HANDEL: Messiah
  • Norman Mackenzie, Director of Choruses
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra Chorus
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Leonard Bernstein and the Beethoven Seventh

More Info & Tickets

Thu, January 11, 2018

Sat, January 13, 2018

  • BERNSTEIN: Fancy Free (complete ballet)
  • SAINT-SAËNS: Violin Concerto No. 3
  • BEETHOVEN: Symphony No. 7
  • David Coucheron, Violin
  • Peter Oundjian , Conductor
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Kathleen Battle: Undergound Railroad

More Info & Tickets

Fri, January 19, 2018

  • Kathleen Battle, Soprano
  • Morehouse College Glee Club, Vocals, Choral
  • Spelman College Glee Club, Vocals, Choral
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Beethoven's "Emperor" Concerto

More Info & Tickets

Thu, January 25, 2018

Sat, January 27, 2018

  • MICHAEL KURTH: Everything Lasts Forever
  • BERNSTEIN: Symphony No. 1, "Jeremiah"
  • BEETHOVEN: Piano Concerto No. 5, “Emperor"
  • Jorge Federico Osorio, Piano
  • Jennifer Johnson Cano, Mezzo-soprano
  • Robert Spano, Music Director
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Beethoven's Second and Third Piano Concertos

More Info & Tickets

Thu, February 1, 2018

Sat, February 3, 2018

  • BEETHOVEN: Symphony No. 1
  • BEETHOVEN: Piano Concerto No. 2
  • BEETHOVEN: Piano Concerto No. 3
  • Jorge Federico Osorio, Piano
  • Robert Spano, Music Director
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

The Exquisite Mozart Requiem

More Info & Tickets

Thu, February 8, 2018

Sat, February 10, 2018

Sun, February 11, 2018

  • BEETHOVEN: Piano Concerto No. 1
  • MOZART: Requiem
  • Jorge Federico Osorio, Piano
  • Jessica Rivera, Soprano
  • Magdalena Wór, Mezzo-soprano
  • William Burden, Tenor
  • Tom McNichols, Bass
  • Roberto Abbado, Conductor
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra Chorus
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Schubert's Unfinished and Unparalleled Eighth Symphony

More Info & Tickets

Thu, February 15, 2018

Sat, February 17, 2018

  • ROSSINI: Overture to Semiramide
  • SCHUBERT: Symphony No. 8, "Unfinished"
  • BEETHOVEN: Piano Concerto No. 4
  • Jorge Federico Osorio, Piano
  • Roberto Abbado, Conductor
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Jonathan Biss Plays Beethoven

More Info & Tickets

Wed, February 28, 2018

  • BEETHOVEN: Piano Sonata No. 1 in F minor, Opus 2, No. 1
  • BEETHOVEN: Piano Sonata No. 9 in E Major, Opus 14, No. 1
  • BEETHOVEN: Piano Sonata No. 13 in E-flat Major, Opus 27, No. 1, "Quasi una fantasia"
  • BEETHOVEN: Piano Sonata No. 12 in A-flat Major, Opus 26, "Funeral March"
  • BEETHOVEN: Piano Sonata No. 21 in C Major, Opus 53, "Waldstein"
  • Jonathan Biss, Piano

An Evening with the Eminent Maestro Edo de Waart

More Info & Tickets

Thu, March 1, 2018

Sat, March 3, 2018

  • SHOSTAKOVICH: Violin Concerto No. 1
  • RACHMANINOV: Symphony No. 2
  • Augustin Hadelich, Violin
  • Edo de Waart, Conductor
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Seuss at the Symphony

More Info & Tickets

Sun, March 4, 2018

  • Stephen Mulligan, Assistant Conductor & Atlanta Symphony Youth Orchestra Music Director
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Prokofiev's Third Piano Concerto

More Info & Tickets

Thu, March 8, 2018

Sat, March 10, 2018

  • KODÁLY: Dances of Galánta
  • PROKOFIEV: Piano Concerto No. 3
  • R. STRAUSS: Ein Heldenleben
  • Behzod Abduraimov, Piano
  • Henrik Nánási, Conductor
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

The Latin Lover: Boléro Meets the Tango

More Info & Tickets

Thu, March 15, 2018

Sat, March 17, 2018

  • LÓPEZ: Suite from Bel Canto
  • LORENZ: Concerto for Maracas, "Pataruco"
  • PIAZZOLLA: Concerto for Bandoneón, "Aconcagua"
  • RAVEL: Boléro
  • Ksenija Sidorova, Accordion
  • Alcides Rodriguez, Maracas
  • Miguel Harth-Bedoya, Conductor
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Atlanta Symphony Youth Orchestra Crescendo Concert

More Info & Tickets

Sun, March 18, 2018

  • Stephen Mulligan, Assistant Conductor & Atlanta Symphony Youth Orchestra Music Director
  • Atlanta Symphony Youth Orchestra

The Effervescent, Soul-Searching Music of J.S. Bach

More Info & Tickets

Thu, March 22, 2018

Sat, March 24, 2018

  • MICHAEL KURTH: New Work
  • BACH: Orchestral Suite No. 3
  • BACH: Brandenburg Concerto No. 3
  • BACH: Cantata No. 80, "Ein feste Burg ist unser Gott"
  • Kim-Lillian Strebel, Soprano
  • Kelley O'Connor, Mezzo-Soprano
  • Robert Spano, Music Director
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra Chamber Chorus
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Jonathan Biss Plays Beethoven

More Info & Tickets

Wed, April 4, 2018

  • BEETHOVEN: Piano Sonata No. 4 in E-flat Major, Opus 7
  • BEETHOVEN: Piano Sonata No. 17 in D minor, Opus 31, No. 2, "Tempest"
  • BEETHOVEN: Piano Sonata No. 5 in C minor, Opus 10, No. 1
  • BEETHOVEN: Piano Sonata No. 23 in F minor, Opus 57, "Appassionata"
  • Jonathan Biss, Piano

Beethoven and Heroism in the "Eroica" Symphony

More Info & Tickets

Thu, April 5, 2018

Fri, April 6, 2018

  • MICHAEL KURTH: May Cause Dizziness
  • BERNSTEIN: Serenade (after Plato's "Symposium")
  • BEETHOVEN: Symphony No. 3, “Eroica”
  • Robert McDuffie, Violin
  • Robert Spano, Music Director
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Dvořák's Stormy Symphony No. 7

More Info & Tickets

Thu, April 12, 2018

Sat, April 14, 2018

  • JANÁČEK: Taras Bulba
  • SHOSTAKOVICH: Piano Concerto No. 1
  • DVOŘÁK: Symphony No. 7
  • Conrad Tao, Piano
  • Christian Arming, Conductor
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Violin Sensation Nicola Benedetti Plays the Beethoven Concerto

More Info & Tickets

Thu, April 19, 2018

Sat, April 21, 2018

  • MATTHIAS PINTSCHER: Ex nihilo
  • BEETHOVEN: Violin Concerto
  • BRAHMS: Symphony No. 2
  • Nicola Benedetti, Violin
  • Matthias Pintscher, Conductor
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Prokofiev and Beethoven: Two Big Personalities Take on the Classical Symphony

More Info & Tickets

Thu, April 26, 2018

Sat, April 28, 2018

Sun, April 29, 2018

  • PROKOFIEV: Symphony No. 1, "Classical"
  • MOZART: Oboe Concerto
  • BEETHOVEN: Symphony No. 2
  • Elizabeth Koch Tiscione, Oboe
  • Carlo Rizzi, Conductor
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Yo-Yo Ma with the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

More Info & Tickets

Sat, May 5, 2018

  • SAINT-SAËNS: Cello Concerto No. 1
  • Yo-Yo Ma, Cello
  • Robert Spano, Music Director
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Atlanta Symphony Youth Orchestra Finale Concert

More Info & Tickets

Sun, May 6, 2018

  • Stephen Mulligan, Assistant Conductor & Atlanta Symphony Youth Orchestra Music Director
  • Atlanta Symphony Youth Orchestra

Leonard Bernstein's Irresistible Operetta Candide

More Info & Tickets

Wed, May 9, 2018

Fri, May 11, 2018

Sat, May 12, 2018

Sun, May 13, 2018

Tue, May 15, 2018

Wed, May 16, 2018

Thu, May 17, 2018

Sat, May 19, 2018

Sun, May 20, 2018

  • BERNSTEIN: Candide
  • Susan V. Booth, Director
  • Robert Spano, Music Director
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra Chorus
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Jonathan Biss Plays Beethoven

More Info & Tickets

Wed, May 30, 2018

  • BEETHOVEN: Piano Sonata No. 8 in C minor, Opus 13, "Pathétique"
  • BEETHOVEN: Piano Sonata No. 22 in F Major, Opus 54
  • BEETHOVEN: Piano Sonata No. 26 in E-flat Major, Opus 81a, "Les Adieux"
  • BEETHOVEN: Piano Sonata No. 2 in A Major, Opus 2, No. 2
  • BEETHOVEN: Piano Sonata No. 31 in A-flat Major, Opus 110
  • Jonathan Biss, Piano

Hilary Hahn Plays Tchaikovsky

More Info & Tickets

Thu, May 31, 2018

Sat, June 2, 2018

Sun, June 3, 2018

  • ENESCU: Romanian Rhapsody No. 1
  • SHOSTAKOVICH: Symphony No. 1
  • TCHAIKOVSKY: Violin Concerto
  • Hilary Hahn, Violin
  • Cristian Măcelaru, Conductor
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Rimsky-Korsakov's Scheherazade and Debussy's Prelude to The Afternoon of a Faun

More Info & Tickets

Thu, June 7, 2018

Sat, June 9, 2018

  • DEBUSSY: Prelude to The Afternoon of a Faun
  • FLETCHER: Piano Concerto
  • RIMSKY-KORSAKOV: Scheherazade
  • Inon Barnatan, Piano
  • Robert Spano, Music Director
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Connect With Us


Plan Your Visit