Nicholas McGegan Leads the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra in Mozart, Rameau and Haydn

Atlanta Symphony Hall

Performance Dates

Thursday, May 4, 2017 8:00 PM
Saturday, May 6, 2017 8:00 PM

Nicholas McGegan, a frequent and welcome guest conductor, returns to lead a program that celebrates the grand tradition of three musical capitals – Vienna, Paris and London. Mozart's Serenade, A Little Night Music, is one of his most well-known and beloved works. The nine movements of the Suite from Les Indes galantes (French: "The Amorous Indies") was written by Jean-Philipe Rameau in 1725 after witnessing three dances by a delegation of Native American chiefs in Paris pledging their allegiance to King Louis XV. Franz Joseph Haydn's two visits to London inspired 12 magnificent Symphonies. The Symphony No. 104, "London," is Haydn's last, and perhaps his greatest.

Program Notes

Atlanta SO

Ken Meltzer's Inside The Music

Atlanta SO



Eine kleine Nachtmusik

Atlanta SO  

    Suite from Les Indes galantes

    Atlanta SO  

    Symphony No. 104, "London"

    Atlanta SO  
  • Sponsors

    Connect With Us

    Plan Your Visit