Donald Runnicles Leads the Orchestra in Shostakovich and the World Premiere of a New Work by Marc Neikrug; Pianist Kirill Gerstein Plays Tchaikovsky

Atlanta Symphony Hall

Performance Dates

Thursday, January 12, 2017 8:00 PM
Saturday, January 14, 2017 8:00 PM

Subscribe to Series

Tchaikovsky's First Piano Concerto received a less-than-stellar review from its first critic, famed pianist Nikolai Rubinstein. But the composer stayed true to his vision, and the delightful Concerto remains among Tchaikovsky's most treasured works. Rubinstein later became a great champion of the work, revised by Tchaikovsky in 1879. There is a third version of Tchaikovsky's concerto, revised posthumously, that is more frequently performed. Mr. Gerstein will perform the 1879 version of the concerto, which he feels is more reflective of the composer's final intent.

This piece is paired with another Russian composer, and a work that might be considered its polar opposite – a Symphony of despair and terror with a triumphant finish, written by the much-oppressed Shostakovich after the death of Stalin.

» Read Review of Thursday's Performance From ArtsATL

The concerts of January 12 and 14, 2017 are dedicated to the memory of Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. On January 15, 2017, Dr. King would have been 88 years old and this weekend the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra remembers his life, legacy and achievements.

Program Notes

Atlanta SO

Ken Meltzer's Inside The Music

Atlanta SO

Donald Runnicles Speaks With Composer Marc Neikrug

Atlanta SO

Evans's Corner: (Full) Conversation with Pianist Kirill Gerstein

Atlanta SO

Evans's Corner: Conversation with Pianist Kirill Gerstein



The Unicorn of Atlas Peak (World Premiere)


    Piano Concerto No. 1 (1879 version)

    Atlanta SO  

    Symphony No. 10

    Atlanta SO  
  • Sponsors

    Connect With Us

    Plan Your Visit