Voice of the People

Bloch’s “Hebraic Rhapsody” for solo cello and orchestra was written to illustrate, in his words, “the complex, glowing, agitated soul” of the Jewish people. ASO Principal Cello Christopher Rex gives the piece voice. Conductor Ilan Volkov also leads Shostakovich’s Tenth Symphony, written after the death of Stalin and the composer’s own oppression at the hands of the tyrannical Russian leader.


Atlanta Symphony Hall

Ticket Prices: $24 - $75
Performance dates

Thursday, May 22, 2014 8:00 pm
Saturday, May 24, 2014 7:30 pm


  • Composer
  • Overture to I vespri siciliani
    Atlanta SO
    Atlanta SO
  • Schelomo
    Atlanta SO
    Atlanta SO
  • Symphony No. 10
    Atlanta SO
    Atlanta SO
  • Click on dates in blue above to see what's happening on that day.

Connect with us

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • Youtube
  • Tumblr
  • Soundcloud
  • Email